You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 21, 2009.

Velcro wiki

1. Hair, fuzz, lint, cobwebs, your poodle, a little lamb, anyone wearing their Velcro-loop suit…

velcro

when I wear my Velcro-hook suit.

2. The vivid memory of a childhood dream when I was 10 or maybe 7, of sitting on the swing set in John and Mark Peterson’s front yard negotiating with the giant black widow spider spindling above me, to convince it not to bite me.

3. Cockleburs, fish hooks, foxtails, the top of the chain link fence, the nail in my tire, the stealthy Jumping Cholla that hitched a piggy back when I brushed by. Smoke from the bar last night.

4. Now that it is 3:39 and 26.4 milliseconds in the afternoon and I remember it all the more for trying to forget IT, and THAT you did this to me at the bus stop: the Lionel Richie song you were singing this morning….“this feeling down deep in my soul that I just can’t lose.”

5. The picture of the man in the peanut suit on the cover of the magazine CULTURAL CORRESPONDENCE (see #1 inre suits that suit you or me). http://dl.lib.brown.edu/cu ltural_correspondence/shel f.html

6. Free associations (see #5).

7. Out the window of the Metrolink train on that slow ride in to Union Station, looking down into the concrete arroyo of the L.A. river and seeing the silent drama of one man running along side the grave, treacherously swift water in the deeper channel cut into the center of the river bottom (the only water in the river at that time), holding his hand out to another man being washed down the channel. Then the train went around the bend and they were gone.

8. Incurable, incorrigible, language inveteracy.

9. Wishing with all my might that my imaginations and others’ fictions would be real.

10. That idea for a story, the one where the people win.

5. The picture of the man in the peanut suit on the cover of the magazine CULTURAL CORRESPONDENCE (see #1 inre suits that suit you or me).
http://dl.lib.brown.edu/cu ltural_correspondence/shel f.html
6. Free associations (see #5).
7. Out the window of the Metrolink train on that slow ride in to Union Station, looking down into the concrete arroyo of the L.A. river and seeing the silent drama of one man running along side the grave, treacherously swift water in the deeper channel cut into the center of the river bottom (the only water in the river at that time), holding his hand out to another man being washed down the channel. Then the train went around the bend and they were gone.
8. Incurable, incorrigible, language inveteracy.
9. Wishing with all my might that my imaginations and others’ fictions would be real.
10. That idea for a story, the one where the people win.
August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31