hello friends!!

juliette lee tagged me to be part of this wild zig-zagging self-interview process titled (somewhat unfortunately) the next big thing. i’d resisted participating but was lured by juliette’s invite, which is below (and which i pass along to you, from me, and mean every word of it!).

my responses are below, and hers are as well in case you’re curious about how others are answering. you can also see jill magi’s post about a collaborative homemade project we completed recently, if you visit her blog: http://jillmagisblog.blogspot.com/2013/02/a-collaboration-with-jen-hofer-shroud.html.
the questions are the following — and as you’ll see from reading jill’s, juliette’s, and my responses (or any of the zillions you can find online) — you should feel utterly free to answer in any way you wish, briefly or extensively or however else.
please let me know if you’re interested so i can tag you when i post my answers (which will appear on juliette’s site as i don’t yet have a functional site of my own).
xoxo
jen
*
What is the working title of the book?
THE WORKING TITLE OF THE BOOK IS THE BLACK YUCCA STALK.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

THE IDEA FOR THE BOOK CAME FROM THE GOLDEN YUCCA STALK.

What genre does your book fall under?

THE GENRE OF THE BOOK IS FALLING LIKE A BLACK YUCCA STALK.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I WOULD CHOOSE 1,000 BLACK ACTORS TO PLAY THE ROCKY WILD YUCCA FIELD.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

ONE SENTENCE FALLING ON THE BOOK IS BLACK YUCCA SEEDS RATTLE IN THE WIND.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

IT TOOK SOME YEARS BEFORE I GAVE INTENTIONALITY TO A SPECIFIC STALK.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I WAS WRITING THIS BOOK WHEN IT WAS HARD TO BREATHE BUT I KNEW IT WOULD SOON BE OVER AND I COULD BREATHE.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

FREE YUCCA SEEDS AND PODS.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

THIS BOOK WILL BE REPRESENTED BY FIXATIONS AND TREMORS.

My tagged writers for next Wednesday are:

CARRIBEAN FRAGOZA
LISA CHEN
ARTURO ROMO-SANTILLANO
BEN EHRENREICH
OSCAR ZETA ACOSTA
juan fish truck
